Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Uncharted by Tracey Garvis Graves





Uncharted is just a short little Novella that MUST be read after On the Island. It's the story of "Bones" and a man named Owen.

This was a great little story, that did draw me in right off the bat. You get little snippets from Anna and TJ but not a lot. It really is a separate, but connected, story. As it went it did slow down a wee bit. Not as engrossing as On the Island, but still really enjoyable.

Everything is wrapped up nicely, and it does tie up other loose ends that you might have had after reading On the Island.





Monday, June 24, 2013

Luck of Love Tiffany Aleman and Ashley Poch | Excerpt & Giveaway





Synopsis

Blake Riley thought she could leave her traumatic past behind when she left for college. Starting a new life and moving forward never sounded so good. Living carefree with her best friend in Ocean City New Jersey gave her the freedom she had always hoped for.

But sometimes life isn’t so carefree.

When Blake finds herself torn between the affections of two men, emotions that have been buried for years will be exposed. Derrick, a powerful CEO of a popular casino resort, instantly captivates her. Being drawn into his domineering passion, she bares herself to him in a way she least expected. With Landon, a successful attorney, she can be someone new; someone free from her haunting past. Each man evokes a different side of Blake. As both relationships grow stronger, walls will slowly begin to crack.

What will happen when the past slowly creeps its way into the present?

With two worlds filled with secrets and lies, it’s only a matter of time before they crash and truths are revealed.


Trailer


Review:
I liked this one! I liked the characters and the way the story was told. You get to read it from the POV of more than one of the characters which is so nice. I hate it when you are stuck reading so much of just one persons thoughts. Though there was a lot of inner dialogue from Blake...

This book has a lot of drama, so be ready for that. After a few of my last books though, I was ready for some angst and drama so that was perfect for where I am at right now. It was a nice change for me personally.

This story is really hot and steamy but it does end on a cliffhanger so be prepared for that!

I wish I had more to say about this, but really it's one you just gotta read yourself! It is a great summer read though now I need the next one!

Here's a little sneak peek:

Excerpt
Standing on the landing in front of Blake’s door knocking, my cell phone vibrates.  Reaching in and pulling it out of my pocket, I open a text from Blake.

 Blake: It’s open. Come in and find me ;)

With a smile spreading across my face, I open the door walking in.  Closing it behind me, I walk past the couch, tossing my bag on it. 

Searching for Blake, I go to the last room I haven’t looked in yet. Opening her door I’m frozen in place when I see a very sexy Blake standing in front of me, wearing a pair of black stilettos, black stockings with garter belts attached to a pair of lacy boy shorts, and a black bra that has me salivating at the sight of her.  My dick jumps to attention, as a white satin tie hangs around her neck and over her breasts, the tip skims above her belly button.  Her wavy hair hangs freely down her back.  A pair of scarlet red square framed glasses rests on her face completing her look.  Spinning around slowly letting me take in the full effect of this vixen who is Blake Riley, I say huskily, “Well this is a nice surprise.”
Sauntering towards me, swaying her hips back and forth, I clear my throat when she reaches me.  Tracing her finger along my collarbone and up my neck, she leans into me and whispers seductively, “Well hello Mr. James.  I see you got my text.  I seem to be in need of some assistance tonight.” Tracing the shell of my ear with the tip of her tongue, my body stiffens, as the bulge in my pants grows harder.  Grabbing my hand, Blake guides me towards a chair that sits in the middle of her room surrounded by the soft glow of candles placed sporadically throughout.  Sitting down, I rest my arms on the armrests of the chair.  With hooded eyes, I ask Blake, “Are you sure you want to play this game with me?” 

Her eyebrow lifts as she answers, “This is my game Mr. James and you have to follow the rules, or else you don’t get to play.” She leaves me sitting in the chair as she walks across the room.  With her back to me, she says, “There are two rules, and if you break either of them there will be consequences.  I’ll tell you when the rules no longer apply,  then and only then are you allowed to do what you want to me.  Rule number one: Do not touch me at all; if you do, I’ll restrain you.  Rule number two: Don’t speak.  If you say one word, well, you’ll miss one hell of a show.” Fiddling with her iPod, Beyonce’s “Dance for You,” comes over the speakers. 

Walking back to me and standing within my reach, she leans down so that we’re eye to eye, asking, “Do you understand my rules?” 

**Fanning myself** sooo steamy! About the authors:

About Tiffany
I am 27 years old, with a wonderful family. My husband is in the Army, and we have two wonderful children. Ashley and I have been best of friends since we were 13. I recently graduated from South University with my Associate's Degree as a Paralegal. I enjoy listening to music, playing with my kids, and going to the beach, and anything that has to do with the outdoors pretty much. I’ve always liked to write, but never really had an interest in reading until the summer of 2012. I am so excited to be taking my writing journey with Ashley, and we cannot wait for everyone to get their hands on Luck of Love, which is the first installment in the Luck Series. I have many authors that I consider my favorite so I’ll just name a few: E.L. James, SC Stephens, Molly McAdams, Rebecca Donovan, K.A Linde, Marie Coulson, and S.H. Kolee.

About Ashley

Ashley grew up in Texas but now has joined her husband to reside in North Dakota. She is a military wife and mother to two adorable children. She’s always wanted to travel having grown up in a small town. Her interest in reading sparked last summer and now she’s a lost cause without her e-reader. Since she loves to travel, the places she gets to go in her fictional books are what any girl could ask for. When Ashley isn’t glued to her computer you can find her outdoors either playing with her children or relaxing and enjoying the sun reading a good romance novel.

Connect with them:
Website | Facebook | Twitter

**Giveaway**

Friday, June 21, 2013

One by Leigh Ann Kopans | Review and Giveaway






Synopsis:
When having two powers makes you a Super and having none makes you a Normal, having only one makes you a sad half-superpowered freak.

It makes you a One.

Sixteen-year-old Merrin Grey would love to be able to fly – too bad all she can do is hover.

If she could just land an internship at the Biotech Hub, she might finally figure out how to fix herself. She busts her butt in AP Chem and salivates over the Hub’s research on the manifestation of superpowers, all in hopes of boosting her chances.

Then she meets Elias VanDyne, another One, and all her carefully crafted plans fly out the window. Literally. When the two of them touch, their Ones combine to make them fly, and when they’re not soaring over the Nebraska cornfields, they’re busy falling for each other.

Merrin's mad chemistry skills land her a spot on the Hub's internship short list, but as she gets closer to the life she always wanted, she discovers that the Hub’s purpose is more sinister than it has always seemed. Now it’s up to her to decide if it's more important to fly solo, or to save everything - and everyone - she loves.

Excerpt:
“They don’t matter,” Elias says, staring at his hands, his fingers gripping each other. “I learned that a long time ago.”
Suddenly, I’m angry at his passivity, like I want to shake him by the shoulders and scream some sense into him. He’s a One. He’s a freak. He should be suffering just as much as I am.
“Yeah? Well, if your One doesn’t matter and they don’t matter, what does matter?” I clench and unclench my jaw over and over again, wavering between feeling bad about saying that to him and feeling powerful for finally unleashing this on anyone besides my poor parents.
He doesn’t respond right away. Oh, God, he must hate me. But then he speaks, and his voice is soft and patient. “There’s something beyond Superior and the Hub, Merrin. Someplace where no one expects anything from me. From people like us. Somewhere I could be myself, without the One and without the stupid school and basketball team. Those are just things I’m using to get by. Leni…she really fits in there at Nelson. But I don’t.”
“Somewhere you can be just like a Normal, you mean. But your One will never leave you.” The words come spilling out, like I couldn’t stop them if I tried. Still, I don’t look at him, focusing instead on twisting a long blade of grass into a knot over and over. “You can always leave Superior, leave other Supers, but you’ll always be half like them.” I can’t keep my voice low and measured like he can. “You’ll always be doing…whatever it is you can do…and wondering if there’s more. Don’t tell me you would ever give it up, that you’d give up practicing whatever your One is. We’re meant for more than Normal life.”
A smile teases at his lips, like he wants to tell me about his One but knows there’s no point. Like he doesn’t even care whether I know or not. And because of that, I really do want to know. Finally.
I can’t stop my legs from fidgeting. They bounce up and down, making my skirt swing against my calves. But I can’t make myself leave him. Even though he makes me feel like screaming at him and sobbing into his shoulder at the same time.
A few lone fireflies flit around a bit too early. The top three-quarters of the sky are only slightly dark. I reach out to swipe one from the air and watch as it staggers across the back of my hand, testing its legs after a stretch of flight.
I wish walking felt more foreign to me than flying.
About Leigh Ann Kopans:
Raised on comic books and classic novels, Leigh Ann developed an early love of science fiction and literature. As an adult, she rediscovered her love for not only reading, but also writing the types of fiction that enchanted her as a teen. Her debut novel, ONE, is about a girl with only half a superpower, the boy who makes her fly, and her struggle to make herself whole.

Leigh Ann, her husband, and four children live in Columbus, Ohio. When she’s not immersed in the world of fiction, you can find her obsessing over the latest superhero movie or using her kids as an excuse to go out for ice cream (again.)

Connect with Leigh Ann:
Blog | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Good Reads





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Escaping Me by Elizabeth Lee | Cover Reveal


Coming July 2013
Synopsis:
All she wanted to do was forget. Forget the memory of walking in on her boyfriend in the middle of, well, another girl. Forget how she had her entire life planned out. And, forget about being perfect all the time. Unfortunately, she was Whitney Vandaveer and despite the fact that she moved to the middle of nowhere – she couldn't.

He always knew he would never be more than nothing. No job, no money, no future. Cole Pritchett had accepted the fact that he would always be the screw up and he was okay with it. Until he met her.

Here's the thing they quickly found out – sometimes we all need a little help escaping who we think we are.


About Elizabeth Lee:
 When I'm not writing or playing the part of wife and mother, you can find me dancing back-up for Beyonce, singing back-up for Miranda, or sunning myself on the beach with a drink in hand.  Here's the thing about being born and raised in a small town—you have a very vivid imagination!  Now, I channel it all to create stories where the girl always ends up with the right guy, first kisses are magical, and a happy ending is just that!

Connect with Elizabeth:
Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads

Saturday, June 15, 2013

Dragonfly by Leigh T. Moore | Interview and Giveaway



Synopsis:
Three bad things I learned this year:
-People you trust lie, even parents.
-That hot guy, the one who’s totally into you, he might not be the one.
-Things are not always how they appear.

Three good things I learned this year:
-Best friends are always there for you, even when they’re far away.
-That other hot guy, the one who remembers your birthday, he just might be the one.
-Oh, and things are not always how they appear.

Anna Sanders expected an anonymous (and uneventful) senior year until she crossed paths with rich-and-sexy Jack Kyser and his twin sister Lucy.

Pulling Anna into their extravagant lifestyle on the Gulf Coast, Lucy pushed Anna outside her comfort zone, and Jack showed her feelings she’d never experienced... Until he mysteriously withdrew.

Anna turned to her internship at the city paper and to her old attraction for Julian, a handsome local artist and rising star, for distraction. But both led to her discovery of a decades-old secret closely guarded by the twins’ distant, single father.

A secret that could permanently change all their lives.

UNDERTOW, Book #2 in the Dragonfly series, coming July 18!
 

**Interview**

I am so so excited because I got to interview Leigh!! Everything from Leigh will be in THIS COLOR.

Hi, Eliza! Thank you so much for having me here today and helping me share my new book Dragonfly with everyone!

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always written and loved books, but I never dreamed I’d actually write one. I liked writing short things, like features for news and magazines. Then one day I sat down and wrote Dragonfly (in 2009), and five books later, I can’t imagine doing anything else!

How did you get started as a writer?

I was an English major in college then I taught writing to high school students for a year. After that I worked as an editor, and I freelanced for a newspaper. Then I was the editor for a local magazine. All that led to my first book!

What genre do you consider your books and what drew you to that one?

The majority of my books are contemporary romance. The first two I put out (The Truth About Faking and The Truth About Letting Go) are Sarah Dessen-style young adult. The Dragonfly series will start with the characters as seniors in high school and quickly move into New Adult.

On the flip side, my book Rouge is New Adult-light historical, and I have a YA science fiction book with a literary agent. So I dabble.

How would you describe your style and books to someone who hasn't ever read one of yours before?

They’re fast-paced, character-driven romance/love stories. The Dragonfly books are more plot-driven and soapy than the Truth books, but still, they’re all very character-focused. Sometimes they have light mystery or suspense thrown in!

Who is your fave character from your book and why?

I am in love with Prentiss Puckett, who’s the scrappy little heroine of my science fiction book. She’s a survivor, she’s determined to escape her predicament, and I had the most fun writing her. At the same time, I love all my characters. They’re all so unique and they all face different challenges. But Prentiss is tons of fun to write.

If this book were to be made a movie who are your dream casting pics?

Argh. I wrote Dragonfly in 2009, so my dream cast is sadly out of date. I’m asking readers to email me THEIR dream cast collages (leightmoore@gmail.com), and I’ll post them on my Facebook page with their names/links! (http://www.facebook.com/LeighTalbertMoore)

Do you ever see yourself as one of your main characters? If yes which one?

Not really. But I guess all of my characters have some part of my personality in them. That’s inevitable, yes?

Do you ever get writers block? Is so, how do you overcome it?

I haven’t ever had “writers’ block” as it’s traditionally imagined. But I do procrastinate a lot before I sit down and start a new story. Then I usually don’t get up until it’s finished, so maybe that’s why… LOL!

Can you share a bit of what you are currently working on?

The next book in the Dragonfly series focuses heavily on the secret Anna discovers in the first book. Readers will get that whole story couched in *no spoilers* Anna’s growing romance with one of the guys.

What advice would you give to someone who is just starting out as an author or is afraid to start at all?

Just do it—and then just keep swimming! Even if you write something that ends up going in a drawer, the first step to being a writer is writing. I used to tell my students the most important part of writing is revising. So never give up, never delete! Dragonfly was in a drawer for four years before I went back and broke it all to pieces and put it back together again as a stronger book.

Get some trusted writer-friends or join a local writers’ group, maybe take some classes, and get going! You can do it!

randomness:
What's your favorite quote?

I just saw this one, and I love it: “All Good Things Start from a Seed. How Many Have You Planted?”

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Stop stressing so much. Everything will work out exactly like it’s supposed to. (Hmm… I guess I should tell older me that, too!)

What are you currently reading?

Click to Subscribe by LM Augustine, and it is too cute!

What are 5 of your favorite movies?

Anything by Wes Anderson! In the summertime, though, I love re-watching The Life Aquatic
My Favorite Brunette (the old 1940s version) and All the President’s Men (the old 1970s version)—both of these movies are why I wanted to be a journalist.
Juno—the perfect YA story
A Room With A View—with the very young Helena Bonham-Carter, Daniel Day Lewis, and Julian Sands. Gorgeous!

Thanks again so much for having me here, Eliza! I hope you enjoy my new Dragonfly series~ <3
Thank you sooooo much Leigh! It was so great to get to know you a bit better! <3 <3
ABOUT LEIGH T. MOORE:

Leigh Talbert Moore is the author of the popular young adult romantic comedy The Truth About Faking, its companion The Truth About Letting Go, and the mature YA/new adult romantic suspense novel Rouge, a Quarter Finalist in the 2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.
She is an award-winning journalist and editor, who has also worked in marketing and public relations for many years. Her writing has appeared in newspapers and magazines across the southeast and Midwest U.S., and she runs the popular writing-craft blog That’s Write.

A southern ex-pat and beach bum, she currently lives with her husband, two young children, and one grumpy cat in the Midwest.




Read excerpts of her books on Wattpad and Figment!

Enter to #WIN a Kindle Touch loaded with all FOUR of Leigh's books AND an exclusive eARC of Undertow; A signed, print set of Dragonfly and Undertow, or ebook sets of both!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

One Tiny Lie by KA Tucker | Review and Giveaway





Synopsis:
Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents' tragic death and Kacey's self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would...and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.


Review:

I have been so excited for this book. I really loved the first book, Ten Tiny Breaths. I went in to this one expecting the same kind of book as the first and it really is different. Livie and Kacey are like polar opposites so it totally makes sense that the books would have a different feel. I definitely loved this one as much as the first.

Livie is damaged, but not in obvious ways like Kacey was. Livie is damaged in the ways that I personally could relate to. She has a plan and expectations and when they don't come through she feels like a failure. As a character I could see a lot of myself in her. It made reading it really fun and I was rooting for her all the way.

While reading this, I kept comparing it to Thoughtless by SC Stephens as well. There were just parallels there and it came to mind throughout for me. Not a bad thing...just something I noticed! I was just holding my breath at times waiting for the inevitable. It was incredibly nerve wracking at times!! This book also made me laugh out loud numerous times. I love that in a book!!!

The boys in this book...seriously! Ashton...oh Ashton. I LOVE him!! Every time I read a book I have a new book boyfriend, but Ashton is going to be really high on my faves for the whole year I think. He is seriously dreamy and charming and hilarious and damaged and loveable. He's seriously everything and perfect. Connor seemed pretty perfect too! I am a total sucker for an accent and I can see why he would be everything Livie would be looking for. He fits her criteria perfectly and is every girls dream I think. He was definitely likable most of the time and then other times I couldn't stand him and I don't even know why! I guess it's just cause Ashton is around? Poor Connor. Really no one can compete with Ashton around. At least not in my eyes!

Livie was really likable for me. I think because she really was pretty normal. At least in the way that most of us are. We all have issues. Sometimes when they don't seem like huge issues they get overlooked, but they are still there.

This book made me laugh and cry and hold my breath. It really is everything you can want in a book and I definitely recommend it!! I guess there is a third book and I have heard rumors that it is about Cain...could be interesting....

About Kathleen:
Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Connect with her:
Blog | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Atria

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Pretty Little Lies by Jennifer Miller | Review



Synopsis:
A little lie can change the course of everything. . .

Like every other eighteen-year-old in love, Olivia has dreams of spending forever with the love of her life. Luke is all she’s ever wanted – until she overhears something she was never meant to. In a matter of seconds, Olivia’s heart is shattered. Olivia handles it the only way she knows how - she runs- leaving behind her family, friends and the boy she loves.

Seeking comfort and an escape, Olivia finds it in resident bad boy Deacon. He’s everything Luke isn’t – and that’s fine with Olivia.

Now, seven years later, Olivia is older, wiser and headed back to Chicago looking forward to a fresh start and reconnecting with her best friend Pyper. What she doesn’t expect, is to come face to face with the boy she left behind and discover that even though she may have left, her feelings for him didn’t.

Can Olivia put aside the pain in her heart and trust Luke? Will the ties to her past ever let her go, or will she continue to let her life be affected by pretty little lies?


Review:

I have been looking forward to this one for a while. I looove second chances and hope and all that jazz. It just makes my heart happy.

I really enjoyed this book, though it could be a bit predictable at times. It took me a wee bit to get fully invested...maybe about page 50 or so? After that I was in it completely though. And once Luke was back in the picture I was totally hanging on every chapter waiting to see what would happen!

Let's start with Pyper. I really loved her and the relationship she had with Olivia. Such a fun and perfect bet friend. I totally want a Pyper in my life. She made me smile and just brought such a great dynamic. Really she made me like Olivia more.

If you are a fan of awesome book boys like I am, you will loooove Luke. He's very swoon worthy. He's got the perfect amount of confidence balanced with the perfect about of sweet. He's really awesome and I know you guys are going to love him too!

While reading, I was kind of waiting for the other shoe to drop. There was an air of suspense...not scary suspense...but there's a scene where Olivia says she is kind of waiting for the bad to happen. That she was afraid for some reason and I felt like that a lot.

All in all I so loved this and cannot wait for book two. I need it like yesterday people!!! This book made me laugh out loud and swoon and I am so glad I got to read it and give it my honest review!

Jennifer is giving away a Kindle Paperwhite! With this giveaway, those entering to win the Kindle paperwhite need to show proof of purchase of Jennifer's ebook. By doing that, all you'll need to do is enter your confirmation number in the form below, BUT, since the book isn't available until June 12th, the giveaway doesn't start until 12:01 am that morning. You'll be able to enter on each of the participating blog tour sites at that time.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GO HERE for a list of tour stops!

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Crave by Monica Murphy | Cover Reveal & Excerpt


synopsis:
Billionaire Archer Bancroft always gets what he wants—and he’s wanted Ivy Emerson, his best friend’s sister, for far too long. Being forbidden and untouchable only makes her more tempting. When a million-dollar bet with his friends throws down a challenge—last bachelor standing takes all—Archer knows he can win. That is, until one enchanted evening with Ivy takes his heart for a ride.

Ivy knows Archer is nothing but bad news: Infuriating, arrogant…and completely intoxicating. But despite her best efforts, she can’t seem to keep away. When a stolen kiss leads to a night of heated passion, Ivy realizes she’s in trouble and in head over heels.

But in the light of day, everything seems clearer and Archer’s not so sure a one-night stand is all he wants. Concocting a plan to keep Ivy by his side, Archer might just be willing to lose this bet…and win the jackpot instead.





CRAVE
by Monica Murphy
New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy launches her sexy Billionaire Bachelors Club series with the story of Archer and Ivy: a lavish bet, a night of carnal desires, and a forever they never thought possible…

Ivy
“What is this?” I take the wadded up fabric from his hand, our fingers accidentally brushing and heat rushes through me at first contact.
“One of my T-shirts.” He shrugs those broad shoulders, which are still encased in fine white cotton. “I know you didn’t have anything to wear to…bed. Thought I could offer you this.”
His eyes darkened at the word bed and my knees wobble. Good lord, what this man is doing to me is so completely foreign, I’m not quite sure how to react.
“Um, thanks. I appreciate it.” The T-shirt is soft, the fabric thin, as if it’s been worn plenty of times, and I have the sudden urge to hold it to my nose and inhale. See if I can somehow smell his scent lingering in the fabric.
The man is clearly turning me into a freak of epic proportions.
“You’re welcome.” He leans his tall body against the doorframe, looking sleepy and rumpled and way too sexy for words. I want to grab his hand and yank him into my room.
Wait, no I don’t. That’s a bad, terrible idea.
Liar.
“Is that all then?” I ask because we don’t need to be standing here having this conversation. First, my brother could find us and start in again on what a mistake we are. Second, I’m growing increasingly uncomfortable with the fact that I’m completely naked beneath the robe. Third, I’m still contemplating shedding the robe and showing Archer just how naked I am.
“Yeah. Guess so.” His voice is rough and he pushes away from the doorframe. “Well. Good night.”
“Good night,” I whisper but I don’t shut the door. I don’t move.
Neither does he.
“Ivy…” His voice trails off and he clears his throat, looking uncomfortable. Which is hot. Oh my God, everything he does is hot and I decide to give in to my impulses because screw it.
I want him.

Archer

Like an idiot, I can’t come up with anything to say. It’s like my throat is clogged and I can hardly force a sound out, what with Ivy standing before me, her long, wavy dark hair tumbling past her shoulders, her slender body engulfed in the thick white robe I keep for guests. The very same type of robe we provide at Hush.
But then she does something so surprising, so amazingly awesome I’m momentarily dumbfounded by the sight.
Her slender hands go for the belt of the robe and she undoes it quickly, the fabric parting, revealing bare skin. Completely bare skin.
Holy shit. She’s naked. And she just dumped the robe onto the ground so she’s standing in front of me. Again, I must stress, naked.
My mouth drops open, a rough sound coming from low in my throat. Damn, she’s gorgeous. All long legs and curvy waist and hips and full breasts topped with pretty pink nipples. I’m completely entranced for a long, agonizing moment. All I can do is gape at her.
“Well, are you just going to stand there and wait for my brother to come back out and find us like this or are you going to come inside my room?”

Find out more on Goodreads (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17852029-crave) and on avonromance.com (http://www.avonromance.com/book/hush)


Tuesday, May 21, 2013

The Hazards of Skinny Dipping by Alyssa Rose Ivy | Review & Giveaway



Synopsis:
This isn't a deep book about first loves or self-discovery. If you want a book like that, I'd be happy to recommend one, but I don't have that kind of story to tell. Instead my story is about rash decisions and finding out that your dream guy is bad in bed. It's the story of when I finally went skinny dipping, and how my life was never the same again. Oh, and it's also the story of my freshman year of college and realizing Mr. Right might have been there all along.

Ok...so I admit I hadn't read anything by Alyssa Rose Ivy before this *gasp* I know right?! How lame am I? I definitely feel like I am missing out after reading this one and will be adding her books to my TBR shelf!

I so enjoyed this book. I loooved that she didn't make it insanely long just for the sake of more pages but it didn't leave a bunch up in the air either because she cut story lines too short. It was paced perfectly and was the perfect length. I was able to sit and read it in one sitting and that was awesome.

Let's talk about the characters. We'll start with our heroine, Juliet. I liked her...most of the time. She was spunky but not bitchy or mean. She had such a witty since of humor at times. Snarky I think is the perfect word for her. I am one of those wallflower types of people I feel like and totally admire the people who can be witty at the perfect moments! However....when it came to Dylan I wanted to shake her! Dylan. Blech. I want to punch him in the throat and break his trachea all Jason Statham style. It's odd too because he's not like this evil person, but I cringed every time he was around and I was really really nervous about it. Something about it him just was unsettling and very sketchy. Then Reed...*collective sigh all around* Reed is dreamy. He's that guy that would protect you and have your back and open your door for you and all the cheesy romantic things that everyone loves, even if they pretend they don't. He's not belittling though. He's patient and kind. I really loved him.

 There were moments where Juliet was so aggravating because she couldn't see what I could see. I wanted to yell at her and point out what she was doing wrong...but alas you have just have to watch it all play out. Right when you sigh and think everything is going to really good now...there's a twist and your back to holding your breath waiting for that perfect ending. There are funny moments and sad moments and perfect moments.

 This is a book that you will totally be able to lose yourself in for a few hours and be frustrated with at times, but in the end is so worth it!


Alyssa Rose Ivy is a New Adult and Young Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.

Connect with Alyssa:
Good Reads | Website | Twitter | Pinterest | Facebook

***Giveaway***

Friday, May 17, 2013